Golden State Warriors Victory Parade

DSC_0094

Thursday, June 15th, 2017 – When it comes to covering a parade is the there are no do-overs or second chances to get the shot. Your subject, for the most part, are constantly moving. With that said, I knew the best thing I can do is to get the best spot. A position that will allow me to capture all the action all while not having my images ruined by head and hands of attendees.

With the Golden State Warriors winning a the MBA Finals for the second time in three years I new everyone who can make it will be attending the parade & rally. I prepped my camera bag the night before. My overall concern was a compact, reach & speed.

I went with the Nikon D500 for the speed. At 10 frames a second and the same AF system as the D5 there is no way I would ‘not’ get the shot. Mike’s Camera gave me a couple of Tamron newest lenses to use during the parade; the 70-200mm f/2.8 G2 & the 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5. Not only did this set up fill perfectly into my ThinkTank Photo Retrospective shoulder bag gave me the ability to capture everything; reach & width.

untitled--913.jpg
The gear I brought to cover the Warriors Victory Parade.

Now that I got the gear selected its time to beat the crowd in order to get the best position to shoot the parade. I woke up at 5am and left by 6 to hope on the Bart. To no surprise there where plenty of people already marking there spot along the parade route.

I was lucky enough to get a position that put me high enough to shoot over the crowds heads but a distant back where the 70-200mm Tamron was able to capture most of the images. Realizing I had to take into account the crop factor due to the CMOS sensor of the D500.

DSC_0245.jpg

This was one of the time which pre-planning what gear would be best that wouldn’t way me down. That also gave me the ability to easily move through the thick crowd. I could’ve easily got caught up in the excitement of the parade. In this case less was best.

DSC_0833.jpg

You can see all the images I shot during the parade on my website: Golden State Warriors Victory Parade

Leave a Reply

