Monster Trucks & Long Exposure at the Alameda County Fair

untitled--17

I had a great time with my co-workers at Mike’s Camera (Dublin store) as we attended the Alameda County Fair. Knowing Ill be a bit of a distance away and the action is going to quick and intense I decided to bring my NIKON D500 over the D810; with the 24-70mm f/2.8 and the 70-200mm f/2.8 Nikkor lens.

An APS-C (crop sensor) made sense I would be cropping in many cases and with the 1.5 crop factor actually gives me more reach. Ultimately, getting me closer to the action.

untitled--54

I love the results that my Nikon D810 deliver but Im going have to say I was extremely impressed with the ability of the AF system to lock onto the trucks every time I expected it to. Even at slower shutter speeds I got tack sharp images and while allowing me to retain some motion blur in the wheels.

untitled--550

Many people suggested to me not to give up my Nikon D750 in order to purchase the D500. Though the D750 is a great camera system I haven’t looked back. Full frame vs crop sensors but really its about having the right tool for to get the job done.

You can view the rest of the pics I took HERE.

Leave a Reply

